King Crimson - Epitaph Vol. 3-4 (1997) [Japanese Edition]
EAC Rip | FLAC (image+.cue+log) - 636 MB MP3 CBR 320 kbps (LAME 3.93) - 279 MB Covers - 54 MB
Genre: Progressive Rock | RAR 3% Rec. | Label: Pony Canyon (PCCY-01180)

This double-CD second round of 1969-vintage live King Crimson shows is less compelling than the first, although it does offer a few things not evident on the first release - a Michael Giles drum solo and flute and sax solos by Ian McDonald. The material, of course, overlaps the earlier volume, since their sets were limited to a relatively narrow repertoire, and some songs ("I Talk to the Wind," "Epitaph") have deliberately been left off because of limitations in their equipment at this stage of their careers, playing a pair of English jazz clubs in mid-1969. It seems that without voltage regulators, as the band played ever louder or more lights were put on during the show, the voltage to the band's instruments would drop, which threw the Mellotron increasingly out of tune. So we get jams that feature lots of sax and guitar, and some Mellotron, but not a representative sampling of their full sets. More's the pity that a formal live album was never recorded during that year, although the Fillmore shows off of the first Epitaph are close.

CD 1 Tracklist (Volume Three):
01. 21st Century Schizoid Man
02. Get Thy Bearings
03. In The Court Of The Crimson King
04. Mantra
05. Travel Weary Capricorn
06. Improv (including By The Sleeping Lagoon)
07. Mars

Total time: 55:30

CD 2 Tracklist (Volume Four):
01. 21st Century Schizoid Man
02. Drop In
03. Epitaph
04. Get Thy Bearings
05. Mantra
06. Travel Weary Capricorn
07. Improv
08. Mars

Total time: 01:02:51
(Buy premium account for maximum speed and resuming ability)